My favourite things……

favorite_things

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

Ah, Sound of Music! One of my favourite musicals of all time. I know every line of every song, and when I watch the movie, I instantly become sixteen again and I’m hanging onto Julie Andrews’ every word of advice in the “I am sixteen going on seventeen” reprise. No matter how many times I’ve watched it, I still makes me laugh. I root for Captain Von Trapp and Maria and every time it makes me believe in the whole good-natured idea of love.

Watching it, is like a burst of summer sun through your window – It just makes you feel good.

A dose of feel good, something everyone needs from time to time to remember why we rush around like lunatics, work till our eyes hurt, persevere when we really just don’t want to fight another time. It can be an apocalypse out there when you simply don’t have the energy or the will to try to see the beauty of life through all the craziness anymore.

Maybe it’s as simple as remembering your “favourite things”. Maybe it’s worth it to remember what makes you happy: Your favourite things might just be the extra burst of energy, the hand out of the darkness, the warmth in the cold. Maybe remembering your favourite things is the tool that helps you today to be your extraordinary self, instead of being someone’s version of your ordinary self.

Here are a list of my favourite things that get me going, comment and share your favourite things and remember to take a minute to induldge in them every now and again – It keeps you going

Summer: 
Lazy summer afternoons outside, blue summer skies, sunny mornings….SUMMER in general

Coffee:
A cup after a long or difficult day = Heavan

Late night conversations:
Late night conversations with a best friend or someone close usually means a lot of laughter or insight

Dresses: 
There is nothing like buying a pretty dress and feeling like a real lady or a Disney princess

Service to others:  
Helping anyone in any way reminds me about the true purpose of life

Randomness:
Random ideas, dates or get-together’s make the most amazing memories

Adrenaline Rush:
A swim in the ocean, riding bike, going on a rollercoaster….getting the blood going is the best way to
feel alive.

A Good book:
Nothing like reading something that makes you want to keep reading or captures your imagination or
that makes you think. Words capture something inside you that nothing else can.

Dancing in my room while brushing my teeth or getting ready:
No one is EVER TOO OLD to dance around in your pj’s to a good tune while getting ready. It sets you
up in a great mood for the rest of the day.

Remember to have a day filled with your favourite things….. Being happy makes everything else seem worth it!

Leave a Reply

